Ebony’s Review of Black Panther

Ebony’s Review of Black Panther


I have seen Black Panther twice in 24 hours and I *think* I am ready to put at least some of my feelings into words. But where do I start?

This movie is so amazing on so many levels.

Seeing it the first time was pure joy.

Seeing it the second time was pure amazement.

I am going to start with just a review of the movie

Black Panther was visually stunning, the auditory aspect was pleasing, the story line was solid (that is an understatement), the acting was superb, and the action scenes; heart pounding and invigorating.

The team of people that worked on this masterpiece went above and beyond.


Visually

The visuals of Black Panther gave me life. Shout out to Ruth E. Carter for her amazing costume design. She took so many aspects of actual African culture and incorporated them into the costuming that resulted in a more than believe look for Wakanda. The two 219646971_5701273469001_5701263238001-vsscenes that I found most moving visually were when the country was taking the boats to the ritual challenge and the scene when T’Challa arrives at ritual challenge. They show the gathering of his people from his viewpoint.  I cried, y’all. It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.  It brought me to tears.

MOTHERLAND_EW_Spread.40.fin.JPGFrom the costuming, to the hair (my God y’all, the hair was EVERYTHING) to the scenery Wakanda was a fully realized nation with a deep, rich history and culture that spanned centuries.  And speaking of the scenery, Wakanda is a magnificent mixture Africa’s natural beauty immersed in a world of technological advances that Tony Stark has only dreamed of.  The set designers did an excellent incorporating designs inspired by traditional African artwork into a futuristic landscape.

h89m6t12kv801

Now, I mentioned two scenes that moved me, but to honest the movie was full of amazing scenes.

Auditory

If the music from Black Panther does not get you hype I have to assume you have one foot in the grave.  I haven’t listened to the soundtrack yet, but my son (who is 16) informs me that it is “really good”, but in this instance I am referring to the music in the actual movie. The movie is interlaced with African sound and rhythm and the hip hop of today, courtesy of Kendrick Lamar.  The chant used during the challenge ritual called to something in my soul….it felt like home.

Storyline and Acting

I promised not to post any spoilers, so this section is going to be a little thin. Just know that storyline is deep. Probably deeper than many movie goers would realize. Just remember this question “Who are you?” 

black-panther-vs-erik-killmonger-trailer-1078475T’Challa and Erik Killmonger are complex characters that Chadwick Boseman and Michael B. Jordan  (respectively) gave their all in portraying.  The entire cast was amazing.  Each member fully embodied their character giving depth and genuineness.

 

Action Scenes

giphyAgain, I don’t want to spoil this movie for anyone, so this section won’t have many details. I will say that the action scenes in this movie will get your heart pounding, when it isn’t in your throat. There were several moments where I may or may not have hollered with excitement in the theater.


Now, this is just my review of the physical aspects of this movie.  I will do a post about my actual Black Panther Movie experience.

But I will say this movie is so much more than a super hero movie.  There is so much I want to discuss, but out of respect of those that did not get to see it opening weekend I will wait.

980x

Leave a comment